Deleting a Section
This guide will answer the following questions about deleting sections:
- How do I delete a section?
- What sections can I delete?
- Who is able to delete sections?
- Are section deletions shared across course sections at my institution?
- Is there a way to undo section deletion? Can I get a section back?
- I can’t delete a section. Why isn’t the gear icon menu appearing when I hover over the section?
How do I delete a section?
As an instructor with course editing rights, you can delete a section from within a study plan.
You can watch this short video below to quickly get familiarized with section deletion, or you can follow the step by step process below.
Open the study plan that you want to remove a section from. To delete, hover over the section and click on the gear icon that appears in the upper right corner.
Note: If the gear icon does not appear its likely that your user account does not have editing rights. Please see Who is able to delete sections? below.
In the section menu drop down, click on the Delete link. A confirmation popup will be displayed. Read and check each item to confirm the deletion of the section, related content items and related questions from the Show What You Know and Quiz question banks.
The delete button will not be enabled until all of the confirmation items have been checked.
Click on the Delete Section button. The section will be removed from the study plan, along with all associated questions.
Note: Once removed a section is not easy to return, it will require a full reset of any edits made to the study plan and related quizzes. Please see Is there any way to undo section deletion? Can I get a section back? below.
What sections can I delete?
Certain sections can not be deleted from a Waymaker study plan. Any content section (under dive in), Cerego section or StatTutor section can be deleted, however as key structural elements of the study plan the Why it Matters, Show What You Know, Putting It Together, and Ready for the Quiz sections can not be deleted.
Who is able to delete sections?
It depends on how editing has been set up for the Waymaker course at your institution. At some institutions, one lead faculty member is responsible for editing the quiz banks and study plans that are shared across all course sections.
By default the first faculty member that clicks into the course will become the lead, and sole, editor. An institution may however request that additional faculty be given editor rights or that editing is opened up to all faculty members of the course.
If you’re unsure about whether you are personally responsible for making quiz edits, please check with the person at your institution who coordinates work with Lumen Learning or contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
If faculty who are not responsible for making edits identify the need to remove a section they will need to coordinate with the lead faculty who is responsible for making such edits.
Are section deletions shared across course sections at my institution?
It is possible, and in many cases likely, that the version of your Waymaker course is shared across multiple course sections at your institution.
Any course sections created from the same Waymaker cartridge will share both section and quiz edits. If you are unsure of which course sections at your institution are connected to the same course version please contact us on email@example.com.
If you would like to have an isolated course in which you can make your own edits without impacting anyone else please contact Lumen and we will get you a new course cartridge tied to a new Waymaker course version.
Is there any way to undo section deletion? Can I get a section back?
At the moment there is no way to undo the deletion of a single individual section in your Waymaker course, however Lumen can help you reverse section deletion by resetting your study plan.
In order to return deleted sections Lumen will need to revert your study plan to its original version. This will return all sections and also result in any edits you have made to the show what you know and final module quiz being reset.
If you want to reset your study plan please contact us on firstname.lastname@example.org.
I can’t delete a section. Why isn’t the gear icon menu appearing when I hover over the section?
If the gear icon ins’t appearing on your study plan its likely that your user account does not have editing rights. Lumen can add you as an editor on your course, however it is also important to consider that edits may be shared across multiple course sections at your institution (see Are section deletions shared across course sections at my institution above).
If you’re unsure about whether you are personally responsible for making quiz edits, please check with the person at your institution who coordinates work with Lumen Learning.